It seems as though I have fallen quite behind in my counting.  Truth be told it’s been a challenging four days.  So here I am with a list of 12…better late than never. 🙂

3 Gifts Behind a Door

1. & 2.  Outside is behind two of our doors in our home.  One leads to our backyard, and one to our front.  I love both of these spaces equally.  Our backyard is a beautiful sanctuary now covered with snow and ice and is a feeding area for a plethora of birds and squirrels.  The chubby squirrels look at me through the window when they can find no more sunflower seeds or apple cores.  They make me smile.  They remind me of how God continually provides for me.  I love my backyard animals.  IMG_7516And my front door leads to our front garden.  We inherited a beautiful flower garden from the previous owner and then incorporated a small vegetable garden within it a few years ago.  And of course, there are a few bird feeders tucked in here and there.  Year round I see God’s life all around me.  IMG_2941

3.  Solitude.  Quiet moments in which I can just sit silently and hear and see His love for me.

3 Ways You Feel the Love of God

1.  I think it is obvious at this point that I feel His love through His creation every day.  I cannot get enough of it.  My heart soars when I see tiny toes of infants, shining eyes of children, wrinkled smiling eyes of the aging, the bright red of the cardinals, or the variations in all the sparrows.  And how do I even begin to describe the textures and shapes of all the leaves of the trees and flowers?  And the sunrises & sunsets?  The brilliance of the moon!  And I love rocks of all sorts and sizes.  I really could just keep going. IMG_7588

IMG_7173    IMG_3245IMG_2951     IMG_3257

2.  My farmer.  His voice.  His smile.  His touch.  His warmth.  His heart.  His unconditional and continual love.  His covering of prayer over me always.  His creativity.  His intentional acts of service.  His absolute love of Jesus.IMG_7399

3.  God’s Word.  It is a constant that I absolutely cannot live without.  Through it, He instructs, warns, admonishes, and sings over me.  He tells me who I am and who He IS!  It is my life line and He has given it to me in written word but has taught me how to hide it deep in my heart.  Oh, Abba, my heart must sing out to you in praise!  Thank YOU!

A Gift in Losing, Finding, Making Something

I count as a gift losing fear.  I believe Him.  He tells me not to fear because He is with me, that He will fight for me.  He has gone before me and comes behind me and encompasses me with His power and protection and wisdom.  He tells me that nothing is impossible with Him.  He asks me, “If I am for you, who can stand against you?” He tells me that He can do immeasurably more than all I could ever ask or imagine.  He tells me that I am His.  I believe Him.  And when I can’t, I call out His Name and He helps me believe Him.  And I believe Him…again.

Finding peace is the next gift I count.  See above paragraph.  A verse I often recite while falling asleep is Psalm 4:8. “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.” In losing fear, I find absolute peace.

A gift I count in making something is the ability to knit.  I have been knitting since 2007, and it has been a fun gift.  I enjoy teaching others to knit and making all sorts of gifts for friends and family.  Rarely a day goes by when I don’t knit something.

3 Gifts in Shadows

In order for a shadow to exist, light must be present.

1.  The Light of the World…our Jesus

2.  Lamplight and electricity

3.  Candlelight.  I love the dancing shadows that a flickering candle creates.

So much to thank Him for each day.

