IMG_7525This prompt took me back several years as I thought about a gift broken.  We purchased a beautiful hand-made ceramic heart on a beach in California from a Native American.  A few years into our marriage, this heart was broken when it fell from a shelf in our living room.  It was the farmer’s fault.  I still tease him about how he broke my heart.  All teasing aside, it is symbolic of our years together.  We have both broken each others’ hearts from time to time, but Jesus has been the glue & bandage & stitches that have held us together and healed our hearts to beat in one strong rhythm throughout the last 21 years.  I love the memory of that broken, beautiful heart.

1. broken:  the ceramic heart Parker bought for me on the beach on our honeymoon

2. fixed:  another gift from my farmer; an old plant stand that he found in an old barn that he cleaned up and converted to a candle holder with glass globes

This gift didn’t last long as a candle holder since my farmer broke one of the globes playing with a yo-yo in the house.  This was pre-children, mind you.  Needless to say, I have kept fragile things dear to me away from him since.  All but my heart, I totally trust him with that.  This gift now resides in the back garden as a plant stand, and I love it!

IMG_1003  You can barely see the metal frame of the plant stand amongst the reeds of the Tiger Lilies.

3. thrifted:  a white bench purchased at a local barn saleIMG_4997

This bench is one of my favorite places to sit in our back yard sanctuary.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.  James 1:17

Thank You, Abba.

