I am finally here with the fourth branch of the tree of Life.  In earlier posts I gave the first three branches: Be Grateful, Add Value, See God’s Abundance.  The fourth branch is to be a good finder.  This is perhaps, for me, one of the more difficult branches on which to perch.  It requires me to look for something good about everybody, especially those in which it is difficult to find good things.  We all have these people in our lives, and I’m quite sure I fit this description to some.  This can be as simple as noticing an article of clothing that looks good on the person.  One of my favorite stories is from a wife who was so frustrated with her husband.  She was trying to find something good about him to keep her attitude positive, so she told us that she liked his shirt that day.  I love that honesty.  Sometimes, on a given day, the best thing you can find about a person is the shirt on his/her back.  If this is put into practice on a regular basis, I will tell you that it does get easier.  I have learned to ask Jesus to show me how to be a good finder in everybody.  It’s super easy with those who are uplifting life-givers, but dare I say, it’s crucial to do this with those who are not.  In doing this, we are giving life to those who need it most.  This is not an encouragement to make things up, but to truly find something positive about each person God brings across your path.  In looking for a verse to go along with this concept, I came across Philippians 2:3-4.  Forgive me if I’ve taken this out of context, but I felt it applied.  If we do think of others more highly than ourselves, we may just be able to bless them with life-giving words.

Philippians 2:3-4

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.  Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interest of others.

 

