Colossians 3:23-24 (NIV1984)

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

I’ve been aware of this verse since high school.  It was a required memory verse.  I’ve quoted it often to my children and to myself for encouragement with various tasks.  Today I was quite convicted as I listed all the areas in my life that this applies to:  parenting, teaching my kids, teaching health classes, working our businesses, creating an inviting home, & then I wrote my husband’s name – Parker.  How I realized how much I fail when dealing with the personal relationships.  I’m generally on my best behavior with clients and friends and extended family.  Of course, there is always room for improvement.  But the Holy One gently convicted me that I’m not as aware of this truth with my husband.  I am reminded that I must continually pray for His heart for not just those who don’t know Him, but for the dear ones He has given me every day, the ones who often get the tired, fed up Mom and wife.  I must love as for the Lord just as I am to work as for the Lord.

Lord Jesus, continually change my heart and give me Your perfect love for my dear man, Parker.  He is such a treasure, may he know through my actions as well as my words, how much I love and appreciate him.  And may I continually work unto You as I teach these dear ones You have given us, it is my heart’s desire.  Thank you Dear Savior!

