I felt compelled to write about Winter and barren trees earlier today.  God’s presence was so thick as I walked through the neighborhood, and I realized why I love winter.  It’s not here yet, but it will soon be.  Only a few trees were completely barren, so I shared why that was special in my last post.  Then He gave me another picture of the beauty in the barren.   When I became barren in 2001, I asked God to show me His glory in the loss of life.  I knew the babies were ultimately His, and He assured me that He chose to create and that those children had eternal purpose, and I would meet them and worship Him with them some day for eternity.  What sweet peace He poured over me in my grief.  Then, just 11 short months later, He brought new life to our lives.  We found out Grace Trinity Arin Joy was on her way.  She was in my arms September 3, 2002.  Ethan Garrett Lewis followed 19 months later on February 24, 2004.  They are two of my most incredible miracles that I waited for.  He taught me throughout their adoptions to be still and KNOW that He is God.  They were worth the wait.  He also reminded me of the wait I had during Riley’s pregnancy, the only child of my womb that I have met thus far…another incredible miracle.  Being pregnant was one of the sweetest times in my life.  The expectancy was exhilarating, each change welcomed and full of life.  I enjoyed it and looked forward to seeing His new life in my daughter.  Today, I felt that same expectancy.  It may not be a wee one that I am looking forward to, or it may be another child some day.  But I am assured that it’s life of some sort, and I am asking for eyes to see and ears to hear.  I was almost home, and another small barren tree caught my eye.  And in it was life already; the sweetest little birds resting in its branches.  I often hear the beautiful songs of the birds on my walks, but cannot see them to due to the density of the trees’ leaves.  But today, in the barren branches, I saw life!

