I’ve noticed something about discouragement.  It doesn’t normally just hit you like a brick wall.  Instead it gradually creeps over you and binds you in a place that you don’t want to be, but you don’t know how to leave.  It’s heavy and grey and icky.  The words of Jesus keep resonating in my mind…”In this world there will be trouble, but take heart, I have overcome the world.”  I cannot remember chapter and verse or even book for that matter, but I believe it was when he was talking to His disciples.  He wouldn’t have told us to “take heart” if we were to never lose heart.  This day I’m kind of losing heart and feeling the cloak of discouragement coming over me.  I don’t want to be here, so I must choose to grab His Almighty, ever-capable hand and hold on.  There’s something sweet on the other side of this, and I want it. 

I’m actually smiling now as I remember an icky mess I found myself in a couple Sundays ago.  I was checking the bottom of my chocolate nut pie to see if the crust was done, and it slipped out of my hands.  I watched in disbelief as my not-quite-done pie crashed on to the stove top and all over the floor.  We were to have guests in a couple hours, so I was out of time and out of ingredients to make another.  I sobbed as I cleaned the floor.  My daughter just clung to my leg trying to comfort me.  My husband ran up from the basement to find a sobbing wife and a gooey mess.  We all looked at the remains of the pie in the pan and on the stove, grabbed some forks and started eating!  It was the most delicious mess we’ve ever consumed.  And instead of sobs, laughter could be heard as we all enjoyed the hidden blessing.  And it’s still making me smile today.  Fun stuff.  I didn’t feel like blogging today, glad I did.  Thank you, Jesus! 

